SAINT CEWYDD'S, DISERTH
The Parish of Diserth, comprising this Church and Saint David's Church in Howey, has been part of the Llandrindod Group since 1987. This Church recently underwent a major restoration, and remains a place visited by lots of people on account of its tranquility and ancient tradition.
The church is dedicated to Saint Cewydd, one of the less commonly commemorated saints who is thought to have lived in the 6th century. The location also suggest an early medieval origin, but as is normal in the rural churches of Powys there is no direct evidence of such an early beginning. The name Diserth means a deserted place in Welsh
Much of this Church building seems to date back to the 1400's. Inside you step back in time with box pews dating back to the 1600's and the three tier pulpit dated 1687.
Today, as well as being open for visitors, the Church hosts Evensong on a Sunday afternoon from June to September at 3pm, and there is also a popular Epiphany Carol Service held in the Church.
The interior of the Church with the box pews and the three decked pulpit is shown below